MCA Ticker

2019 Midwest Area Schedule

07/27: KC Open Pro (9WS)
07/28: KC Open Gold (9WS)
08/16: US GC Classic
08/17: US GC Classic
08/17: Shield Championship-Tulsa (GC)
08/19: Shield Championship-Tulsa (GC)

02/01: 2020 MCA Annual General Meeting

BOLD = MCA Tournaments


Entries in Jason Johnson (25)


MCA Crowns 2014 Champions

BELTON, MO -- The second annual MCA Championship was held yesterday in Belton, Missouri with Matt Griffith taking the MCA Pro Championship with a 26-19 win over Jason Johnson. It was Griffith's second straight tourney win and he is now riding an eight-game winning streak and is undefeated in MCA play.

The overall Pro Race standings remained unchanged as Dylan Goodwin finished with 442 points on a 17-5 record to claim the Goodwin World Media MCA Pro Points race and the top prize of $100. Greg Adams took second with 320 points and a 10-8 record to claim second place and a $50 payout. Ron Millican held third place with 278 points on a 5-11 record and a $30 payout.

Click to read more ...


2014 Pro Championship Playoff is Set

LEAWOOD, KS -- Eight players have qualified and accepted bids to play in the MCA Pro Championship on September 13, 2014, in Belton, Missouri. The matchups follow:

Click to read more ...


Griffith Defends the Home Turf

PARKVILLE, MO -- Matt Griffith had to work hard in the final, but he defended his home court in a back and forth 22-21 thriller over last year's MCA Champion Paul Miller on Sunday at the Kactus Creek Croquet Club in Parkville, Missouri. It was Griffith's first MCA Nine Wicket Series appearance and Miller's first appearance since his MCA Championship win last September.

Click to read more ...


2014 KC Open Player List

PARKVILLE, MO -- The deadline for the Kansas City Open on August 2-3 is this coming next Tuesday at 10:00 p.m. Central time (July 29). You can sign up by RSVP on the Croquet Network event section (Kansas City Open) or email Dylan Goodwin at kccroquetclub@gmail.comClick here for more event details

Player list to date:

Click to read more ...


2014 Lee's Summit Player Commitments to Date

Updated on Monday, May 12, 2014 at 12:35PM by Registered CommenterMCA Website Admin

Updated on Tuesday, May 13, 2014 at 7:31AM by Registered CommenterMCA Website Admin

Updated on Thursday, May 15, 2014 at 7:54PM by Registered CommenterMCA Website Admin

LEE'S SUMMIT, MO -- The following is a list of players that have committed to play in this Saturday's first tournament of the 2014 MCA Nine-Wicket Series in Lee's Summit, Missouri. A (P) indicates the player has paid entry. To enter, send an email and your desired division to Dylan Goodwin at Your fees can be paid at the start of the tournament.

Click to read more ...


2013 MCA Championship: Early Report

BELTON, MO -- A full report will be available later this weekend. Today's winners:

MCA Pro Points Race - Paul Miller
MCA Championship - Paul Miller 

MCA Gold Points Race - Jason Johnson
MCA Gold Championship - Jodi Adams

MCA Six-Ball Championship - Dylan Goodwin 


Miller Leads the Pro Division

With Saturday's win at the PeakVision Leawood Challenge, Paul Miller moves into the pole position for the MCA Nine-Wicket Series. The top eight for the Pro Division will be invited to the MCA Championship on September 14. The Pro Division singles championship will be a single elimination bracket and seeds are based on the current point rankings.

With her eight place position, Deborah Millican will have the opportunity to play in both the Pro bracket and the Gold Division tournament.

RankFirstLastGPWinsLossesTotal WicketsWicket Average
14S. JasonCole3124013.33

Johnson Retains Lead in Gold Division

Jason Johnson held on to his lead in the Gold Division despite missing out on the Gold Final this past Saturday in Leawood, Kansas. Johnson is at 170 points, but that will have to hold as he will be unable to attend the MCA Championship in September. In the meantime, Bill Berg moved up to second place with 148 points, while Deborah Millican maintained third place with 141 points.

RankFirstLastGPWinsLossesTotal WicketsWicket Average
6S. JasonCole2113718.50

Johnson Extends Lead in the Gold Division

Jason Johnson extended his lead in the Gold Division with his second title of the year at Lee's Summit this past Saturday. Bill Berg utilized his extra game in the championship to move into second place on the list. Full standings:

RankFirstLastGPWinsLossesTotal WicketsWicket Average

It's Miller Time

Paul Miller won the Pro Division

Lee's Summit, MO - Paul Miller of El Dorado, Kansas battled through a full day of Pro Division action at the Lee's Summit T-Bone Tournament in Lee's Summit, MO to win the overall title. He beat Dylan Goodwin in 17-15 in the final.


The Pro Division had eight players and utilized three rounds of a random draw that matched up players with equal wins in each round. Matt Smith took the top seed out of the draw with a 3-0 record. He defeated Jodi Adams in round one of the playoff then withdrew. Miller was the five seed on that side of the bracket and advanced with an 18-17 win over four seed Greg Adams. The withdrawal of Smith gave Miller a bye to the championship.

On the other side of the bracket, Goodwin was the two seed, based on a 2-1 record with the loss being 22-21 nail-biter against Matt Smith. He played Greg Clouse in round one, after finishing the draw with a narrow 16-15 win over Clouse. The playoff went a little better as Goodwin won 28-9. Robert Fournier was the three seed and defeated six seed Ron Millican 22-17 to advance to the semi-finals against Goodwin.

Click for full photo galleryFournier had a last turns opportunity after going cross court to roquet his own corner ball resting in corner two. He tried a long peel at the 10PW that failed and left himself with a tough hoop shot and Goodwin prevailed 21-18. 

In the final, Miller took early control when he stole an early break from Goodwin by placing his blue ball between red and black near wicket wicket three. Red was dead on blue and it reversed the set up and made a break for Miller.

Goodwin picked his way around the court to get back into the game and during last turns set a break for red near the 11PW that could have been the winner, but he left an opportunity for Miller to hit yellow. He ricocheted off the center wicket but did indeed hit yellow and gave red a tough hit-in on black back near the turning steak. Goodwin missed and Miller celebrated the 17-15 win. 

In the Gold Division, Jason Johnson now has a two-tourney win streak going as he defeated Bill Berg 18-10 in the final to take the title. The win gave Johnson a chance to avenge a 20-16 loss to Berg earlier in the day.


Pro Division

1. Paul Miller (3-2)
2. Dylan Goodwin (4-2)
3. Matt Smith (4-0)
4. Robert Fournier (3-2)
5. Greg Adams (2-2)
6. Ron Millican (1-3)
7. Greg Clouse (1-3)
8. Jodi Adams (0-4)

Gold Division

1. Jason Johnson (4-1)
2. Bill Berg (3-2)
3. Deborah Millican (3-1)
4. Keith Berg (1-3)
5. Justin Marciniak (0-4)