MCA Ticker

2019 Midwest Area Schedule

07/27: KC Open Pro (9WS)
07/28: KC Open Gold (9WS)
08/16: US GC Classic
08/17: US GC Classic
08/17: Shield Championship-Tulsa (GC)
08/19: Shield Championship-Tulsa (GC)

02/01: 2020 MCA Annual General Meeting

BOLD = MCA Tournaments

« Wicket & Peg Char Bar Cup Croquet Tournament Comes to Westport in September | Main | 2017 States Shield Championship Schedule »

MCA Championship Headed to Loch Lloyd

The MCA is pleased to announce that the 2017 MCA Championship will be held at Loch Lloyd in Belton, Missouri, on September 16, 2017. The Pro Division will have the morning start this year and will begin play at 8:30 a.m. The Gold Division start time will follow the Pro Championship, so the estimated start time is 12:20 p.m.

The traditional all-white croquet apparel rule will be in effect for this event, which happens to be the fifth MCA Championship since the start of the Nine Wicket Series (9WS) in 2013. Loch Lloyd also has a dress code and details on that will be provided soon.

We do plan on offering a Silver Division Championship playoff as well and the format will depend on available players. If the Silver Division sign-up is less than four players, we may incorporate losing players from the Gold Division first round into the Silver playoff.

No lunch will be provided for the event, but coolers and sack lunches are welcome. Most players only have a half day of play, so meals shouldn't be as much of an issue. However, for those staying all day, Martin City is relatively close by.

Players that qualified in the top eight of the Pro and Gold Divisions are eligible to play in the event in their respective divisions. If a player is not an MCA player, they must pay the singles membership at a minimum to play in the event. For current MCA members, there is no fee for the event.

With the move away from Markey Park, the Six Ball Championship scheduled for September 15 has been pulled from the schedule. The MCA Board will discuss options on whether or not to try an alternate date and venue for 2017.

For the MCA Championship, invites will be going out to all eligible players (the top eight in each race), but the process can be accelerated if eligible players can email Dylan Goodwin at with their intention to play or not play. The lists are below.

01. Matt Griffith
02. Billy Bob Breeden
03. Dylan Goodwin
04. Deborah Millican
05. Greg Adams
06. Ron Millican
07. Jason Johnson
08. Jodi Adams

09. Matt Smith
10. Greg Clouse
11. Debbie Breeden

01. Steve Jackson
02. Justin Marciniak
03. Gabe Airrington
04. Ellie Griffith
05. Brevin Millican
06. Wanda Jackson
07. Cade Millican
08. Bryce Millican

09. Josh Reed
10. Darin Watson
11. Di Berg
12. Eddie Mondt
13. Jim Ratzlaff

01. Eddie Mondt
02. Wanda Jackson
03. Cade Millican
04. Brevin Millican
05. Darin Watson
06. Di Berg

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>