Mondt is the Man
Monday, May 8, 2017 at 8:27PM
MCA Website Admin in Cade Millican, Darin Watson, Eddie Mondt, Gabe Airrington, Lee's Summit T-Bone Tournament, MCA Nine Wicket Series, Wanda Jackson

Silver Finalists Eddie Mondt and Wanda Jackson. Greg Adams presented the awards.

LEE'S SUMMIT, Mo. -- Eddie Mondt overcame a slow start to his day to capture the Silver Division championship at the Lee’s Summit T-Bone Tournament. With nine players in the combined Gold and Silver divisions starting the day in group play, Mondt found himself in what might retroactively be named the Group of Death. This group featured the eventual Gold playoff winner in Gabe Airrington and the two silver finalists with Mondt and Wanda Jackson.


Mondt dropped his first game of the day in Group B, with Jackson eking out a 16-15 decision. Airrington, who had defeated Jackson 18-9 in the first match of the day, clinched his berth in the Gold playoff with a 24-15 win over Mondt.

After lunch, the Silver playoff began with Mondt facing off against Darin Watson. Mondt jumped out to an early lead and was able to control the game from there. He eventually coasted to a 27-14 win. In the other semifinal, Jackson squeaked by Cade Millican, 12-11. Although Millican lost all three games he played, two of the losses were by one point, a reflection of the overall depth in the Gold-Silver portion of the event.

Mondt and Jackson faced off again for the title, with the eventual champion maintaining his hot play from the semifinal. Mondt stormed out to an early lead, once again making just about every shot he wanted and controlling the game. He was able to peg out one ball, and had his other ball at the last wicket in last turns. He missed that shot, costing him a chance to peg out the second ball. But it was academic, as he had built up a sizable lead. The final score was 30-19.


--Darin Watson

Article originally appeared on Midwest Croquet Association (
See website for complete article licensing information.